F. A. Q.
All you need to know about renting
What do you need to rent a boat or jetski?
Photo ID & valid Credit Card
What type of credit cards do you accept?
Visa, MC or Discover
Can I still pay cash?
Yes, we accept cash as payment. This does not eliminate the need for a credit card for your deposit.
Why do you need a credit card?
Your card will be copied with the ID’s of all of the drivers. Your card is responsible for any and all damages, loss of property, late returns, and search & rescue efforts.
My 14/15 year old doesn’t have an ID, they are only 14/15. What about their school ID?
No one without a valid ID may operate in the State of FL. A school ID would only be accepted if it has a birthdate. A piece of paper without a photo stating a birth date is not an acceptable form of ID. Photo’s on the ID’s may not be more than 5 years old.
How old do you have to be for a rental?
Anyone 18 years old or older with proper ID and credit card may rent from H2O. Boater’s license is required where applies.
How old do you need to be for riding a jetski?
All riders must be able to hold on by themselves. We recommend mature 4 yr olds and up for this type of activity.
Do you offer any activities that do not require a credit card or ID?
Our boat tours & fishing charters do not require a license or credit card
What is a boater’s license?
Boater’s license are required by law for anyone born on or after 1/1/88 that wish t o drive in the State of Florida
How do I get a boater’s license & how much do they cost?
You have 2 choices: take a full boater’s course (various fees) for a lifetime card or take a short certification here at my office for only $3 pass or fail. If you fail, you will pay an additional $3 for a second test.
How long are they good for?
1 year from the date on your certification
Do I need to keep it with me?
You must have it with you anytime you intend on driving a watercraft with 10 hp or more.
I want to book but what is your cancellation period?
We have a strict 48 hour cancellation policy.
How early should we arrive for our rental?
Everyone should arrive no less than 30 minutes prior to their rental ready for orientation. If you have boat test that are needed allow additional testing time. You have a reservation time set specifically for your party. If you arrive late or with very little time for your orientation you could forfeit your rental at your own cost.
What do I need to bring with me to my rental?
Photo ID of all drivers.
Photo ID and Credit Card of responsible party. Waterproof bags, reading glasses, cell phones, shoes to wear down docks, sunblock
What happens if I show up without a credit card or ID?
You will not be allowed to rent without proper ID and credit card. You will be charged for your reserved time if you show up unprepared
Why do the the credit card & ID have to match?
Why can’t I bring someone else’s ID & credit card to rent your equipment?
It is against the law for me to accept a credit card and ID from someone other than the card holder. They must be present and capable of reading, understanding and signing all paperwork.
Why do I have to take an ID on the water with me if I am driving? Where do I store it?
Florida law states it is illegal to operate without a valid ID on board at all times. Boater’s license must also be carried where applies. There are glove boxes onboard for storing items like ID, boater’s license, cell phones, etc. They are not water tight so having a water tight bag is suggested.
Ready for your rental...what next
How long is the orientation?
Orientation is typically 20-30 minutes depending on prior boating knowledge. Disruptive parties will cut into their rental if they are not listening & following instruction. Rentals will be denied if H2O feels you are disregarding safety procedures being given.
What does the orientation cover?
Orientation will cover everything from rules of the road, basic boat & jetski operation, how to navigate our waterways, liability waivers and rental agreements
Why am I responsible for damage?
You are solely responsible for any and all damages of all equipment while it is in your possession. Inspecting the equipment is your responsibility before leaving. Keeping count of all items you take such as, life vest, snorkel sets, fishing poles, etc.
What if there is already damage on my rental?
H2O Watersportz encourages you to take photos before leaving the dock with the attendant. Point out any damage you see prior to leaving for peace of mind upon your return.
Am I responsible for returning on time?
It is your responsibility to return to the dock on time. You have paid the office. Chris & Blossom are the only people who authorizes extended times. If there is no one booked and waiting, you will be allowed to settle up your overage. If you take extra time without approval from owners Chris or Blossom you will be charged the penalty fee of $15 per 5 minutes. Your time stops when your ski or boat arrives to the docks.
What happens if I am late?
You will be charged accordingly. This is not negotiable. You pay for an hour, use an hour. Not an hour and 15 minutes. You would not appreciate it if you pay for an hour and we only give you 45 minutes.
What happens if I run aground or get into grass and come back late?
Our very detailed orientation is a tool to avoid this from happening. Listening carefully is very important to your knowledge on how to avoid mentioned obstacles. While operating in the channel, you could get grass in the jetski intake or on the boat intake. However, you will not run aground in the marked channel! Getting the grass cleared immediately will prevent the engine from overheating. If you overheat the engine, you must allow it to cool down before operating. Since you are the reason it overheated by not cleaning the intake immediately.
Why is there a fee if I refuse to get my own grass out?
Grass removal is a part of riding a jetski and boat in our waterways. Operating a vessel with a clogged intake will damage the engine. You will be told numerous times before leaving how to prevent this from happening. If you do not intend on removing the grass, you will not be allowed to take out our equipment.
What if I go outside of the riding area where I am allowed to go?
Our riding area is huge! Tampa Bay to Sarasota Bay as well as the gulf coast of Anna Maria Island. You are only limited by the amount of time you purchase. We will tell you where you are able to go with your time purchased. If you go outside of this area and we must dispatch assistance there will be an hourly rate of $75 per hour.
I am back with my rental, should I come in without an attendant present?
Never attempt to load a jetski without assistance. You will wait outside of the marina at idle until the attendant is on the dock to bring you in 1 at a time. Never come in more than 1 vessel at a time.
I came back and the dock attendant noticed damage, now what happens?
You are responsible for any and all damages to our equipment. Your damage will be assessed and charged upon return. Fiberglass damage is not cheap so keeping a safe distance from everyone and everything while aboard our equipment is important. If you would not bump up against a buddies truck with your truck to talk, don’t do it with my skis. Plain and simple “You break it, you pay for it”
If you want to experience a jetski or boat but you are worried about the obstacles mentioned above, let me suggest a tour. Your tour guide will be with you every step of the way navigating our water and will ensure you are back on time plus the will take care of any grass you may get into. This will not alleviate you of damages you may cause as you are still operating your own jetski.